Author Topic: Steward Cink Disqualifications From 2008 Zurich Classic New Orleans  (Read 2556 times)

0 Members and 1 Guest are viewing this topic.

Offline mr.tee75

  • Jr. Member
  • *
  • Posts: 64
  • Cookie Points +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Handicap: 8
Stewart Cink getting disqualified for raking a bunker? ........

This is kind of a crazy disqualification, which apparently even pro golfers aren't even aware of.

Explanation given by tour officials:-

"Tour Officials said that Cink ran into a recent ruling by a USGA ruling on Rule 13-4a. Cink apparently stood inside a bunker to play a ball that wasn’t in the hazard and then hit his next shot into a bunker, at which point he raked the bunker he was standing in. The UGSA recently ruled, “that the player is in breach of Rule 13-4a by testing the condition of a similar hazard. As his ball did not lie in the first bunker, Exception 2 the Rule 13-14 does not apply. Additionally, the answer is the same regardless of whether at the time of the raking he knew his ball lay in the other bunker."

So, basically, the tour ruled that by raking a bunker his ball hadn’t actually gone into, Cink was testing the hazard, which might give him an advantage when hitting a ball that actually had gone into a bunker. Would Cink have been okay had his caddie raked the hazard for him, or would the caddie have then presumably been able to pass on the information from his own testing of the bunker?

 ??? ??? ???

Any comments?


Offline amir

  • Full Member
  • **
  • Posts: 162
  • Cookie Points +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • Club: Kelabu Malami
  • Handicap: 10
 ??? ??? ??? all sounds greek to me ...   ;D ;D ;D
"Golf is so popular simply because it is the best game in the world at which to be bad". A.A. Milne

Offline Dzal

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 17
  • Cookie Points +0/-0
Ikut saja la,,, apa pga kata ;D :D ;D

Offline idzil

  • Sr. Member
  • ***
  • Posts: 212
  • Cookie Points +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
  • I"M YOUR TRIPLE BOOGIE MAN!!!
  • Handicap: 12
hentam saja lah labu!!!  :D :D :D

Offline GolfShop.com.my

  • Newbie
  • Posts: 8
  • Cookie Points +0/-0
  • Gender: Male
    • GolfShop.com.my
  • Club: None
Re: Steward Cink Disqualifications From 2008 Zurich Classic New Orleans
« Reply #4 on: October 19, 2009, 02:51:57 PM »
... Would Cink have been okay had his caddie raked the hazard for him, or would the caddie have then presumably been able to pass on the information from his own testing of the bunker?

 ??? ??? ???

Any comments?

Old post, I know, but a good question that has not been answered...

Since it was at a professional event it was most likely the Caddy who raked the bunker, not Cink himself. In any case, player and caddy are considered a team, hence any mistake by a caddy (i.e. putting 15 clubs in the bag etc.) will lead to a penalty for the player. In the above scenario it doesn't matter who raked the bunker, Cink would have been disqualified in either case.